Synergy between the National and County government is fast-tracking development in Nyandarua, His Excellency Governor Francis Kimemia has said.

Speaking during the unveiling of Nyandarua’s latest two sub-counties, Governor Kimemia said guidance and feedback on County projects from National Government officials at the grassroots will remain critical.

“As you co-ordinate National Government projects, share the same information with us to avoid duplication,” he said, urging both levels of Government to ensure local communities are involved in project identification, implementation and evaluation.

Under Kenya Gazette notice number 4571, dated July 3, 2020, the new Gathanji Sub-County was hived off Nyandarua West Sub-County, with headquarters at Ngano Township.

On the other hand, Nyandarua North Sub-County was split to birth Aberdare Sub-County, with headquarters at Shamata Township.

Nyandarua now has nine sub-counties.

Such administrative units bring services closer to people, including recruitment of more County residents into the disciplined services and resolution of local grievances.

His Excellency President Uhuru Kenyatta had pledged to increase the sub-counties ahead of the 2017 General Election.

Governor Kimemia raised the matter with the Head of State during the groundbreaking ceremony for the cold storage facility at Ol’Kalou on January 31, 2020.

The County head also took up the matter with Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Coordination of National Government Hon. (Dr.) Fred Matiang’i during the latter’s visit to Nyandarua on June 15, 2020.

“I thank the President for having Nyandarua at heart,” the Governor told residents in the two sub-counties this afternoon, adding that two more units in Kinangop and one in Kipipiri are in the making.

In a sign of the Head of State’s continued support for Nyandarua, Cabinet Secretaries Hon. Sicily Kariuki (Water, Sanitation and Irrigation), Hon. Mutahi Kagwe (Health Services) and George Magoha (Education) have also visited Nyandarua, in addition to various Chief Administrative Secretaries and Principal Secretaries.

This has resulted in restarting of the County Government Headquarters project in Ol’Kalou, co-ordinated responses towards the COVID-19 pandemic, Kazi Mtaani, on-going tarmacking of roads, rehabilitation of the Gilgil-Nyahururu metre gauge railway, construction of water dams, support for co-operatives through the provision of coolers and upgrading of vocational training centres, among other initiatives.

The National Government is also supporting the Governor in combating teenage pregnancies, insecurity, alcoholism, drugs and substance abuse.

Following intense lobbying by the Governor, Nyandarua’s colonial villages are also set to receive title deeds, which are now ready in line with the President’s directives during his January visit.

The County head has also reclaimed 860 acres of land belonging to the Pyrethrum Board of Kenya in Ol’Jororok Sub-County, which had been illegally acquired by a private developer.

“Relationships among our elected leaders need to improve so that we can continue moving together at this pace,” he said.

Central Regional commissioner Mr. Wilfred Nyagwanga, who was the chief guest, thanked the Governor for his exemplary service at both levels of Government.

“You are the face behind the new-look provincial administration. I have personally witnessed the many development projects initiated by your administration,” he said.

Present was incoming County Commissioner Mr. David Leparmorijo, alongside County Executive Committee Members Hon. Stephen Njoroge (Finance and Economic Development / acting County Secretary and Head of Public Service), Hon. Daniel Wangenye (Education, Culture and the Arts), Hon. Ann Gathigia (Youth, Sports, Gender and Social Services) and Chief of Staff, Mr. Charles Wachira.

In attendance were legislators Hon. Jeremiah Kioni (Ndaragwa), Hon. Mike Muchira (Ol’Jororok), Faith Gitau (Women Representative), Leader of Majority in the County Assembly Hon. Edinald King’ori (North Kinangop Ward), Hon. Reuben Gitau (Shamata Ward) and Hon. Wairimu Njane (Charagita Ward), among other senior National and County Government officials.